Salt. by Nayyirah Waheed

11svngrkofl-_sx311_bo1204203200_Salt. is a collection of poems about emotions and experiences in sometimes, just a couple of words. The poems range from narrating about love, pain and womanhood to race, Africa and family. I picked it because I wanted to step outside my comfort zone of classic literature and I have to say I was overall surprised.

It’s not a book that you have to read in one sitting; I’ve read it while reading other books, between other books, and it was a good distraction filled with emotions, warmth and inspiration. I have to admit despite the positive reviews some poems weren’t really my cup of tea. In some poems I couldn’t feel there was a ‘story’  being told but rather sentences stating randomly related facts.

But poetry doesn’t speak to us in one language and we don’t have to always find ourselves in poetry. I enjoyed it; it was a fast read aiming at leaving something inside you that is meant to stay. The world needs more poetry.

Soraia

2 thoughts on “Salt. by Nayyirah Waheed

  1. The title sounds vaguely familiar, and I’m also wanting to branch out and read more poetry. I’m definitely adding this to my tbr. The themes sound like something I’d enjoy reading about.

    Like

    • Poetry is beautiful, I’m sure you’ll enjoy Salt. and find something that connects to you.
      Can I suggest Bone by Yrsa Daley-Ward and Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur too? Haven’t read them yet, but heard great reviews!

      Like

Leave a Reply

